South Carolina SR22 Insurance
Cheap South Carolina SR22 Insurance!
South Carolina SR22 Insurance - Select Insurance Group offers Cheap South Carolina SR22 Insurance and Cheap Non Owner South Carolina SR22 Insurance. The South Carolina SR22 Insurance form is required for three years from the end of suspension or in some cases from the beginning of compliance. If the driver is issued a provisional license an SR-22 must be maintained for that 6 month period. In the event you do not own a vehicle and are required to file a South Carolina SR22 Insurance certificate, you can purchase non-owner SR22 insurance.
How do I get a South Carolina SR-22 insurance policy?
- Ask your current or future insurance company to add an SR-22 to the auto policy. This will usually cost an additional $15-$25 for the company to add this certificate.
- If you don’t have insurance yet or want to find cheaper auto insurance you can use our service to compare rates for sr22 insurance companies.
- Provide the insurance company your specific case information that will be needed so the state will receive your SR-22.
- Confirmation from the state will be sent once they receive the SR-22 form from the insurance company.
Learn More About South Carolina SR22 Insurance:
What if I let my South Carolina SR22 insurance policy lapse or cancel?
It is crucial you maintain the auto insurance your sr22 is attached to so that you don’t have to pay any additional fines or start your suspension period over. If you are considering switching insurance companies it is recommended to get confirmation from the new company that the policy is in force before cancelling the old policy.
The state of South Carolina requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $25k Property Damage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
There are numerous reasons why a driver would need to file an SR-22 with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. Below is a list of the most common:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- 1st offense is 6 month suspension
- 2nd offense is 1 year suspension
- 3rd offense is 2 year suspension
- Driving while license is suspended
- Operating an uninsured vehicle
- Indefinite suspension period with $550 reinstatement fee
- Failure to maintain SR-22 insurance
Each one of these violation has it’s own suspension period which can be found at the DMV website.
The average fee to reinstate your license is $100 unless otherwise stated.
It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in South Carolina if you have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. The amount of your penalty fine and suspension period will vary depending on how high your BAC registers.
Drivers under the age of 21 who have a BAC of .02 or higher are considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol. Commercial drivers also have a strict limit which they must stay under which is .04.
Implied Consent Law in SC
When you get your drivers license in South Carolina you have consented to a chemical test of your BAC. If you refuse this test your license will be suspended for at least 90 days and you are still able to be charged of a DUI. This is special circumstances but does occur from time to time.
This device is just like a breathalyzer that doesn’t allow you to operate a vehicle if your blood alcohol level is too high. If you are required to install one of these devices it must be installed by a certified party and the device must comply with state law.
If you are convicted of a second offense for the following violations you are required to have and IID:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration
- Causing great bodily injury or death while driving under the influence
Can I refuse to have the IID installed?
Yes, but if refused your license will be suspended for three years.
What if I don’t own a vehicle, what requirements do I need to meet?
If you do not own a vehicle but are required to have an IID you must certify that you will not drive any vehicle other than one owned by your employer and that you will not own a vehicle during the IID restriction period.
Select Insurance Group’s Customer Testimonials:
” Select Insurance Group was 1/4 of the price that everyone else had quoted for their South Carolina SR22 insurance plans. I saved over $800 a year!!!” – Jamie G. – Columbia, SC
“ My agent at Select Insurance Group had my back on my South Carolina SR22 Insurance. The Financial responsibility was in place in less than 24 hours!” – David L. – Charleston, SC
“If you need an SR22 Bond after a DUI in South Carolina, I’d recommend using Select Insurance Group. These guys are knowledgeable and work with a bunch of companies – so you know you are going to get the best deal“. – Carl H - Greenville, SC
” Even though I had no prior insurance coverage, my agent at Select Insurance Group was able to find me an SR22 after my South Carolina DUI. Within an hour, I was able to walk into the DMV and get my license reinstated on the spot!” – Tammy R – Myrtle Beach, SC
“ Working with Select Insurance Group for my South Carolina non-owner SR22 Insurance policy was a true blessing!” – Twanda K. – Spartanburg, SC
“ Select Insurance Group gets an A+ in my book. The whole South Carolina Non- Owner SR22 Insurance process took less than 5 minutes from start to finish.” – Lonny J. – Anderson, SC